Thursday, March 21, 2019




The 411 on New Jersey DUI Surcharges

The 411 on New Jersey DUI Surcharges

Share/Bookmark

allpics nj The 411 on New Jersey DUI Surcharges

The 411 On New Jersey DUI Surcharges

If you are a New Jersey resident with multiple points on your driving record or have been convicted of traffic offenses such as drunk driving, expect to pay more than just a ticket as your penalty. The state of New Jersey will assess a surcharge on your offenses for three years.

Under New Jersey motor vehicle laws, a traffic violation that causes points to go on your record prompts a review of your driving history. If you receive six or more points over a three-year period for various offenses, the state will assess surcharges ranging from $100 to $1,500. If that isn’t enough, you’ll risk a suspended driver’s license if you do not pay the surcharges.

According to the state of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), the surcharges pay for the state Scrabble Series Moneybond debt and fund alcohol treatment programs for drunk drivers. Here are some answers to FAQ for DUI surcharges received in New Jersey:

What Drivers Must Pay

The MVC assesses a surcharge for three years for the following violations:

1. $100 for driving without a license, driving with an expired licensed, and failure to insure a moped. The surcharge over three years totals $300.

2. $250 for driving without auto insurance and driving with a suspended licensed, a total surcharge of $750 over three years.

3. $1,000 for a first and second offense of driving while impaired (DWI) and for refusing to take a breathalyzer test. The surcharge totals $3,000 over three years.

4. $1,500 for a third DWI, if it happened within three years of the last offense, meaning a total of $4,500.

Throwing Money AwayA Financial Quagmire

A surcharge assessed for three years can create a financial hardship for you and your family. Attorney fees, court fines, paying for an alcohol treatment program and other court-mandated requirements add up over time. These costs are in addition to any fees levied by the MVC for your driver’s license restoration.

You’ll face even more financial pressure if you miss work or lose your job because you went to jail on your DWI charge. Your family is placed at a disadvantage, since the bills begin to mount and your spouse may not be able to pay them off because of the income loss.

You can appeal your conviction, but the state laws are pretty strict when it comes to paying surcharges. For instance, drivers convicted of driving while impaired who move out of New Jersey are still required to pay the surcharges. New Jersey drivers convicted of a DWI in another state are still assessed a surcharge.

Ask for Help

If you find yourself facing drunk driving charges which leads to these surcharges, enlist the help of a DWI attorney. These specialized lawyers can challenge the initial drunk driving offense and might be able to get it reduced to a lesser offense. Consulting with a DWI attorney immediately after an arrest may prevent any future convictions that would bring surcharges.

The best way to avoid paying surcharges of any kind is to follow state traffic laws and don’t drive after drinking alcohol. In this way, other motorists will not be placed in harm’s way because of your drunk driving and your money will stay where it belongs – in your wallet.

Having grown up and driven in New Jersey enables Nadine Swayne to forward this information. While researching for data on FAQ for DUI and other charges drivers face, she found these invaluable facts.

Photo credit #1: http://www.flickr.com/photos/boston_public_library/8489493920/

Photo credit #2: http://www.flickr.com/photos/86530412@N02/8265140843/

Photo credit #3: http://www.flickr.com/photos/76657755@N04/6881494634/

Circle Nadine on G+

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Tags: , ,


Relevant Articles




College Freshmen and Grades: The Sobering Statistics

College Freshmen and Grades: The Sobering Statistics

Share/Bookmark

ALLPICS COLLEGE College Freshmen and Grades: The Sobering Statistics

College Freshmen and Grades: The Sobering Statistics

College requires a big adjustment. Sudden independence, the availability of new distractions, a harder curriculum, excess drinking and partying — all can have an affect on a college freshman’s ability to cope.

It’s no wonder that even the brightest students may struggle to maintain the grades they are used to. One of the biggest challenges of going to college is learning to be productive rather than abusing independence.

School Isn’t As Easy

Many bright students were able to coast through high school, getting As with a minimum of effort. These students are often in for a rude awakening when they get to college. College coursework usually requires about three hours a day of study, and teachers hold students to a higher standard than they are used to. As a result, students may get Cs or below until they learn to apply themselves.Many students don’t accept these changes right away. At first, they may blame the instructor for poor grades or refuse to listen to suggestions because they are used to getting As. As the semester nears its end, these students may become stressed out because they are not getting the grades they need to remain at school.

Many schools offer study skills classes students can take in order to adjust to college’s new academic demands. Even so, some students end up on academic probation each year due to low grades.

Drunk College KidsThe Easy Availability of Alcohol

The availability of alcohol on most college campuses poses significant risk to college students. The combination of extra stress and lack of supervision may encourage students to experiment with alcohol. 4/5ths of college students drink alcohol, and half of those engage in binge drinking.Excessive drinking can harm students’ grades; this is the least of the consequences of alcohol abuse in college. Students who drink can get into legal trouble if they are caught drinking while under the age of 21, behave violently towards other students or drive drunk.

Driving while intoxicated, or DWI, is a serious crime. Working with a lawyer to plan a proper DWI defense is expensive, and eats into class and study time. Moreover, there’s no guarantee a student’s DWI defense team can defeat the charges. A drunk driving conviction can affect the student’s ability to attend classes, his or her continued acceptance at the school or even employment after graduation.

Coming to Terms with Responsibility

For many students, college life represents their first extended stay away from home. Students are completely responsible for every aspect of their lives, from when they go to bed to who they hang out with. In addition to being responsible for making life decisions, students are completely responsible for class attendance. Most professors don’t take attendance, so students have to decide whether or not to go to class.Some students have trouble adjusting to this. Students may stay up all night and sleep through class, socialize when they need to study, drink too much and wind up on the wrong end of a drunk driving arrest, or otherwise sabotage their success because nobody is telling them what to do.

College students may need help adjusting to college life so that they don’t end up needing a DWI defense and seriously harm their grades, their futures or the lives of their fellow students. Most colleges offer free counseling to students to ensure their mental health during the adjustment period.

Nadine Swayne can commiserate with fellow college students having completed her BFA. The adjustment can be daunting and frustrating, but all the hard work definitely pays off. Letting a DWI get in the way of your future is a no-brainer, don’t do it!

Circle Nadine on G+

Photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sterlingcollege/6185395256/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/greggoconnell/231385188/



Tags: , ,


Relevant Articles




Is Your Blood Alcohol Level Going Up? Next Step DWI Level 1

Is Your Blood Alcohol Level Going Up? Next Step DWI Level 1

Share/Bookmark

1st Stop in DWI Arrest for Having a Rising Blood Alcohol Level

DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) is a grave offense not only in California, but other states. The penalties are severe since operating an automobile while intoxicated with alcohol or other drugs like marijuana and cocaine can cause death, injuries and damage to properties.

Whereas DWI is categorized as a misdemeanor, it can also be classified as a felony hinging on the scenario surrounding the crime as well as prior DWI convictions. It is for this reason that you need to hire a drugs crimes attorney like Christopher J McCann with experience in DWI offenses the instant you have been detained for driving a vehicle while intoxicated.

DWI 1st Offense Defined
There are generally two components to DWI first offense. Foremost, the prosecuting attorney will take into consideration the intensity of impairment. Normally, the degree of impairment can be determined by performing field sobriety tests. During the test, the arresting officer will keep tabs on how slurred your speech is, your behavior and the odor emanating from your mouth. If you display signs of a mentally impaired person due to drinking or smoking marijuana, you can be arrested and indicted for DWI.

The other component of DWI first offense is the results of blood alcohol concentration. This can be determined by testing your blood, breath or urine. If your blood alcohol or drug concentration exceeds 0.08%, you will be arrested for driving an automobile while intoxicated with either alcohol or marijuana.

Prosecution for DWI
The manner in which your DWI case will be prosecuted hinges on several aspects, for example, age and blood alcohol concentration level. Damage to property and prior convictions will also determine how your case will be handled. If there are no injuries, fatalities or damage to property and this is your first DWI offense, the prosecuting attorney will mainly depend on the outcomes from the chemical testing.

Penalties for DWI
The penalties for DWI can vary from suspension of your driver’s license for a period of 4 to 12 months depending on whether or not you cooperated with the arresting officer. You can also serve jail term ranging from 96 hours to six months hinging on whether or not there were damages to property and injuries.

If you have been charged with DWI as a 1st offense, it is essential that you call an experienced lawyer like this guest post author Christopher J McCann, in order to try and minimize the penalties that can be handed down to you.

About The Author:

Christopher J. McCann is a practicing Orange County DUI lawyers at the law offices of Christopher J. McCann. You can follow Chris tweets at @cjm_law_firm

alcohol Is Your Blood Alcohol Level Going Up? Next Step DWI Level 1

Photo Credit: MorgueFile



Tags: , , , , , ,


Relevant Articles